Remembering Who We Are zine submission

I was at a party (probably a Don’t Stop Moving evening) somewhere in London, surrounded by my Dad’s friends bopping away to delicious pop music when Ed comes over for a chat. I was an awkward teenager wishing I could be as cool as half the people there and I breathed a sigh of relief when I saw Ed’s face looking down on me. He could sense I was having doubts about myself, perhaps he saw parts of himself being reflected back, and to put me at ease he told me something that has been stuck in my mind ever since;

“These people might like like grown-ups Soph, but inside we’re all still teenagers like you.” 
 
As I’ve grown older I’ve become smarter and I’ve learnt to love myself a bit more, but Ed was right, I’m always going to be an awkward teenager stumbling through life trying to figure out what the hell I’m doing. I’ve also learnt that this isn’t a negative thing, and I’ve definitely accepted it. This little comment has gotten me through some tough social situations; when I feel really lame I remember that a lot of the people I’m with are probably feeling the same way deep down, which makes it easier to function again. Thank you Ed.
 
To add to the zine email your submission to rememberingzine@gmail.com by tomorrow.

~ by shohpie on March 30, 2013.

One Response to “Remembering Who We Are zine submission”

  1. […] also submitted to Remembering Who We Are zine; check out her submission and Shohpie blog over at https://shohpie.wordpress.com/2013/03/30/remembering-who-we-are-zine-submission/) for inviting me to participate and […]

Leave a comment